Automobile insurance is not a suggestion, it is a requirement enforced by Alabama law. Alabama ranks as the 6th worst state in uninsured motorists. At a minimum, you must maintain liability insurance in accordance with the minimum liability requirements.
According to the Code of Alabama (1975), §32-7-6, the minimum liability requirements are outlined as follows:
“…every policy or bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of bodily injury to or death to one person in any one accident and subject to the limit for one person, to a limit of not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.”
It is a requirement to have the minimum coverage, but highly recommended to have higher limits as damages can add up quickly in an accident. Not having insurance on a vehicle you are driving is not only illegal, it can be cause for a lawsuit against you if you are in an accident. If you are hit by someone who is not insured, it is important that you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage on your existing policy. This protects you from possibly not being able to recover damages you suffered as a result of the accident.